One week until #UgandaTrip2014

So, here goes my first ever blog. And as the ultimate technophobe, rather embarrassingly it has taken me a good 30 minutes to set it up!

Within that time, about 30 children in the world have died from a lack of clean water and safe sanitation.

Which brings me to the reason for my blog…

I’m heading to Uganda next weekend with an inspirational group of WaterAid supporters to discover the amazing, life changing work that WaterAid does to provide clean water, sanitation and hygiene education to some of the worlds poorest people. I’m so excited to see this work first-hand, an incredible opportunity that not many people will have.

I’ve been involved in many fundraising activities for WaterAid over the years through Northumbrian Water and I know all about the work they do, but I have to be honest, I’m not entirely sure what to expect out there in the rural areas of Uganda! (And that’s not including some of the exotic insects I might encounter along the way!)

We’ll be visiting communities that have no access to clean water or toilets and other communities where WaterAid has intervened, speaking to the people that live there and finding out how WaterAid has transformed their lives.

I do know one thing for certain though – this trip will be an unforgettable experience and I will be updating this blog while I’m there to share with you the fascinating stories of the people I meet, those who are there to tell their tale, thanks to WaterAid.

Watch this space for my next blog!

#UgandaTrip2014

3 thoughts on “One week until #UgandaTrip2014”

Leave a Reply

